OF THE EARTH
OF THE EARTH with Mariana Rittenhouse
Ep #5: Are we free? Explorations of Freedom pt 1
0:00
-37:31

Ep #5: Are we free? Explorations of Freedom pt 1

What is freedom in a society that trains & conditions you to be someone you're not? In this episode I explore what it means to be free as a Human Being.

Freedom is a natural birthright of all Life on Earth…it’s something Humans crave, seek & even kill for.

But, even when we receive what we believe to be freedom, are we really free?

The Oxford Dictionary defines freedom as:

the power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.

This definition feels OK to me, but to me there’s a sneaky part of in it–that part about “hindrance or restraint.” My question here is…do we even know when we’re being hindered or restrained?

My feeling and my experience is that we don’t…

Here’s the thing…

We live in a world where we’ve been trained and conditioned from birth. Our unique blueprints have been neglected and we are educated in a system whose goal is for us to be uniform. We don’t have choice in the subject matters we learn, in how we express our creativity and uniqueness–we’re essentially standardized from a young age, and then rewarded when we meet the standards that society sets for us.

So if I’m trained to be good and perfect and rewarded and affirmed for meeting those goals…do I really know what I want or like or even who I am? Or am I just trying to get the next treat society has for me?

And is this why so many of us are miserable even when we reach the destinations that our parents and culture have told us are the best?


Are we actually free?!?!

What in God’s name is freedom when we don’t even get to be who we are?

In this episode I explore what it means to be free as a Human Being and how our movement away from the Earth has created lives in which it’s really hard to find fulfillment and freedom. I discuss how freedom has become an energy exchange for safety & control and how we can check ourselves to see if we’re really operating from a space of our true autonomy.

This is part 1 of 2, part 2 will come out next Friday, July 14th.

Enjoy! And let me know your thoughts & own stories in the comments 👇🏽

Share

How to support OF THE EARTH

This podcast is an offering from my heart as a way to continue creating the world I want to live in–one that is honoring of Nature, connected in community & functions on reciprocity. If you feel called to support this work & vision, here’s how:

  • Rate, review and subscribe to the podcast on iTunes or Spotify!

  • Share this podcast with your community

  • Follow & connect with me on Instagram

Thank you for being & for being here! Until next time, my friends!

0 Comments
OF THE EARTH
OF THE EARTH with Mariana Rittenhouse
OF THE EARTH is a podcast to re-inspire your innate connection to Mother Nature so you can find deeper meaning in life and truly remember why you’re here.